League Awards Now Open, New Category Announced

L-R: Matt Kershaw, Board Chairman of the Nevada Credit Union League; Diana Dykstra, President and CEO of the California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues; Bill Cheney, President and CEO of SchoolsFirst FCU and recipient of the 2021 Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award; and John Cassidy, Past Board Chairman of the California Credit Union League.

The California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues are seeking nominations and entries for its 2022 League Awards program. Celebrating its 48th year, the League Awards is one of the industry’s most coveted peer-nominated awards honoring exceptional credit union leaders and volunteers in California and Nevada. View past recipients here.

This year, a new Social Impact category has been added. Additionally, all award nominations can now easily be submitted via a new online portal.

Below is brief information on each award, including contact information and deadlines.

LEAGUE AWARDS: The Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement, Distinguished Service, J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer, Tomorrow’s Star, Kim Bannan, and Social Impact awards are collectively known as the League Awards:

  • Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award
    Leagues’ highest honor, recognizing a lifetime of contributions to the California or Nevada credit union movements; named after the father of the California credit union movement and League founder.

  • Distinguished Service Award
    Recognizes California and Nevada credit union professionals’ ongoing and current contributions to the credit union community.

  • J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer Award
    Named in memory of Al George, who epitomized volunteerism and leadership. Honors the significant contributions of those who serve in a volunteer capacity as directors or supervisory committee members.

  • Tomorrow's Star Award
    Recognizes the efforts of up-and-coming credit union leaders age 35 and under and encourages the development of future leaders.

  • Kim Bannan Eternal Flame Award (Shapiro credit unions)
    Recognizes and honors individuals, credit unions, and other organizations’ contributions to the success of Shapiro credit unions.

  • NEW AWARD: Social Impact Award
    Recognizes individuals and credit unions that demonstrate an unyielding dedication to building stronger communities and improving members’ lives through actions such as financial education, wellness, social responsibility, mentorship, and/or diversity, equity, and inclusion practices.

We are also accepting nominations for the 2022 Chapter Award of Excellence.

The deadline for all nominations is Aug. 12, 2022.

Click here for the nomination forms.

The FREE nomination deadline for the 2022 CUNA Awards from the Credit Union National Association is June 30! These awards span multiple individual categories and credit union asset levels. See the California or Nevada submission form pages.

For any awards questions, please email Cindy Tullues Peterson.


Pin It