Seeking Nominations, Entries for Leagues and CUNA Awards Programs

2020 Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Joe Schroeder, retired CEO of Ventura County CU.

The California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues is seeking nominations and entries for its various awards programs.

Below is brief information on each award, including contact information and deadlines.

LEAGUE AWARDS: The Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement, Distinguished Service, J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer, and Tomorrow’s Star awards are collectively known as the League Awards:

The Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award—Leagues’ highest honor, recognizing a lifetime of contributions to the California or Nevada credit union movements; named after the father of the California credit union movement and League founder.

The Distinguished Service Award—Recognizes California and Nevada credit union professionals’ ongoing and current contributions to the credit union community.

The J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer Award—Named in memory of Al George, who epitomized volunteerism and leadership. Honors the significant contributions of those who serve in a volunteer capacity as directors or supervisory committee members.

Tomorrow's Star Award—Recognizes the efforts of up-and-coming credit union leaders age 35 and under and encourages the development of future leaders.

Know of an exceptional credit union professional or volunteer? Nominate that person for any of these categories.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, Aug. 20, 2021. For nomination forms, contact Cindy Tullues Peterson at

CREDIT UNION NATIONAL ASSOCIATION (CUNA) AWARDS: Be recognized for your credit unions' efforts to make a difference in the lives of members and communities. The Dora Maxwell Award recognizes community outreach efforts, while the Louise Herring Award recognizes efforts made by a credit union for its members. Have an awesome youth or adult financial education program? Showcase them by entering the Desjardins Adult or Youth Financial Education Awards.

First-place winners in each asset category AND in each awards program will be have their entries forwarded to CUNA for the national-level competition.  For more information and to submit your electronic entries click here for California and here for Nevada. DON'T DELAY! The deadline to submit entries is June 23, 2021.  

KIM BANNAN ETERNAL FLAME AWARD: This award honors both an individual and organization/credit union whose efforts contribute to the success and future of Shapiro credit unions. The awards are named after the Leagues’ late vice president of credit union development and research and information. Contact Carmelita Keller for more information. Entry deadline is Aug. 20, 2021. 

Pin It