Rent Relief Opens; Gov. Signs New Paid Sick Leave into Law

Keys in front door

Californians who have experienced a financial hardship because of the COVID-19 pandemic and are most at-risk of eviction can now apply for the CA COVID-19 Rent Relief program to help pay past due rent. Both renters and landlords can check eligibility and apply by visiting HousingIsKey.com or by calling 833-430-2122 (seven days a week).

The CA COVID-19 Rent Relief program was created by the COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act. Funding comes from the $2.6 billion in federal emergency rental assistance program to states and local jurisdictions. Renters and landlords can click here for more information.

Governor Signs New Paid Sick Leave Mandate into Law
Late Friday, California Gov. Gavin Newsom signed legislation that mandates the addition of up to 80 hours of employer-paid COVID-19 sick leave retroactive to Jan. 1, 2021. The new law, which goes into effect March 29, applies to employees who work for a public or private employer with more than 25 employees.

The California Credit Union League and a coalition of more than 110 allied groups strongly opposed the proposal. The coalition expressed concerns about costs on employers, administrative burdens, potential liability for unanticipated errors, and claims under the Private Attorney General Act (PAGA).

This new bucket of 80 hours of leave is in addition to any leave an employee took in 2020 under the federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act (Assembly Bill 1867). Also, there are new qualifying reasons for the leave, including getting the vaccine and recovering from symptoms related to the vaccine.

Pin It