The Leagues

The California Credit Union League and the Nevada Credit Union League (Leagues) are the trade associations for credit unions in both states. 


We are committed to helping credit unions change people's lives.

Core Values

Members First • Advocate • Excellence • Listen, Learn, Innovate • One Team


League Membership

We are the largest state trade association for credit unions in the United States, helping our member credit unions serve more than 12.8 million members in their respective states. And for nearly 90 years, we have played an important role in ensuring the sustained health of its member credit unions.

California and Nevada credit unions can depend on a solid team effort to help them meet their members' financial services needs through service that is unequaled, as seen throughout the breadth of League activities.

To inquire about League membership, please contact Vice President of Credit Union Solutions and Membership Tonja Wheatley at 909.212.6046 or email Tonja.

2020 Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient Joe Schroeder, retired CEO of Ventura County CU
2020 Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient Joe Schroeder, retired CEO of Ventura County CU

League Awards

Each year, the California and Nevada Leagues honors a distinguished industry leader/volunteer during the California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues’ REACH Conference. These awards include:

  • Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer Award
  • Tomorrow’s Star Award
  • Kim Bannan Eternal Flame Award

Leo H. Shapiro Lifetime Achievement Award

This is the League’s highest honor, recognizing excellence in credit union philosophy and a lifetime of contributions to the California credit union movement. It is named after Leo H. Shapiro, father of the California credit union movement and founder of the League.

Distinguished Service Award

Recipients of the League’s Distinguished Service Award are honored for service to the credit union community outside the usual scope of employment at a credit union, and beyond the scope of their chapter.

J. Alvin George Outstanding Volunteer Award

This award honors significant contributions by people who serve credit unions in volunteer capacities, such as a director or committee member. It was renamed in 2013 in honor of the long-time credit union volunteer, J. Alvin George, who passed away that same year.

Tomorrow’s Star Award

The League’s Tomorrow’s Star Award recognizes the achievements by young credit union professionals age 35 and under.

For more information on League Awards, please contact Cindy Tullues

Kim Bannan Eternal Flame Awards

These awards recognize efforts that contribute to the success and future of Shapiro Group credit unions, and are named after the League’s late vice president of credit union development and research and information. 

For more information and forms for the Kim Bannan Eternal Flame Award, contact Carmelita Keller.